Aviation officers during the training
    Sponsored Advertisement

    Officers of the Aviation Security Division of the Ministry of Communication and Aviation had successfully concluded an awareness recertification training on Dangerous Goods last month from September 3-10.

    The officers received training via a virtual training program coordinated by the New Zealand Aviation Security Department along with the help of two local senior Aviation Security officers as assistant instructors.

    Sponsored Advertisement

    The training was extremely important for the Aviation Security officers because it provides awareness of the types of dangerous goods that passengers may be carrying in their bags. The skills developed in the training will help the Aviation Security officers on identifying dangerous goods and the conditions under which some dangerous goods may be carried on aircraft and what actions have to be taken upon discovery of dangerous goods not permitted to be carried on board aircrafts.

    The training was required to accredit officers as certified officers who legally have the responsibility for screening passengers, their baggage, goods and cargoes. Aviation Security officers will be deemed as illegally carrying out passenger screening, check-outs and check-ins at the airport once they do not undergo this training and are not certified.

    It is a requirement under the Civil Aviation Rule Part 92 that this Dangerous Goods Awareness Recertification Training must be taken by Aviation Security personnel every two years so as to remain as certified officers in passenger screening and at the same time acquire updated knowledge and skills about safety requirements when handling Dangerous Goods.

    Dangerous goods are: “Articles or substances which are capable of posing a risk to health, safety, property or to the environment and which are shown in the list of dangerous goods in the International Air Transport Association (IATA) Dangerous Goods Regulations, or which are classified according to these Regulations”. Classification of Dangerous Goods are divided into 9 different classes. These classes are:

    • Class 1: Explosives     
    • Class 2: Gases
    • Class 3: Flammable Liquids
    • Class 4: Flammable Solids    
    • Class 5: Oxidizing Substances
    • Class 6: Toxic & Infectious Substances                                                                                 
    • Class 7: Radioactive Materials
    • Class 8: Corrosive Items
    • Class 9: Miscellaneous Items

    On completion of the training, the officers are expected to have an understanding of the general philosophy of Dangerous Goods and the basic considerations when transporting dangerous goods by air while at the same time know the origin of current Regulations and relate the legislative requirements to the practical handling of dangerous goods.

    Officers are also expected to be able to identify the different classifications and divisions of dangerous goods and identify the correct labels and markings and recognise the hazards, both obvious and hidden.

    The training also enabled officers to interpret the International Air Transport Association (IATA) Provisions for dangerous goods carried by passengers or crew, know what dangerous goods are permitted on board an aircraft for passengers and crew and in what volume and capacity, and recognize what items are prohibited and also understand the requirement to report incidents and accidents involving dangerous goods to your supervisor.

    The training also equipped Officers to apply the appropriate emergency procedure action for different classes of dangerous goods as per the Emergency Response Matrix while at the same time understand how human factors should be considered in all aspects of Dangerous Goods transportation.

    This Training is based on both the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO) Technical Instructions and the International Air Transport Association (IATA) Dangerous Goods Regulations.

    Solomon Islands Aviation Regulator, the Civil Aviation Authority Solomon Islands (CAASI) sets its dangerous goods rules on the two international regulations.

    The Solomon Islands Civil Aviation Act 2008 Section 101 empowers or gives Aviation Security Officers the authority to deal effectively with Dangerous Goods detected during the course of the screening process at the airport. The Dangerous Goods Awareness Recertification Training is a boost for the Aviation Security Officers.


    What you think?

    Sponsored Advertisement
    Solomon Water