Home News Sogavare congratulates Vanuatu PM as new chair of MSG

Sogavare congratulates Vanuatu PM as new chair of MSG

PM Sogavare (left) and PM Bob Bob Loughman (right) at the Special MSG Meeting in Suva
Sponsored Advertisement

Prime Minister Hon. Manasseh Sogavare has congratulated Vanuatu’s Prime Minister, Hon. Bob Loughman Weibur on his role as the new Chair of the Melanesian Spearhead Group on Thursday 14 July in Suva, Fiji.

Speaking during the official hand over of the mantle from the care taker Papua New Guinea Prime Minister Hon. James Marape to Hon. Bob Loughman during a special meeting of the sub regional bloc in Suva, Fiji, Prime Minister Sogavare congratulated Vanuatu for assuming the MSG leadership.

“The MSG leadership is being passed from one capable hand to another capable hand,” Sogavare said.

Sponsored Advertisement

Mr Sogavare assured Mr Bob of Solomon Islands’ support and confidence during the tenure of his appointment.

The Prime Minister also acknowledge the outgoing chair, Hon. James Marape for his outstanding leadership during one of the sub region’s darkest chapter in history.

“Thank you PNG for holding the fort especially in the past few years, our dark days… With COVID 19 and other challenges, it was not easy but you were exceptional. Thank you,” he stated.

“Additionally, I would like to convey my utmost congratulations to the newly appointed Director General Mr. Leonard Louma, OBE of the MSG Secretariat, first under the merit-based process.

The Prime Minister encourages MSG to remain united. Our future should be planned and pursued together, he adds.

Recognizing and acknowledging the MSG founding fathers’ leadership and examples, PM Sogavare reminded the sub region to be an inspiration of unity to the wider pacific and the world.

“When we are scattered, we are weak.”

It is important that MSG continues to play a central role in pulling the wider pacific together.

He calls on all MSG members to uphold the MSG ideals.

Bob Loughman Weibur, the new MSG chair is the MP for Tanna and 12th Prime Minister of Vanuatu.


What you think?

Sponsored Advertisement
Solomon Water