Home Breaking News MP Tausinga resigns from Our Party and DCGA

MP Tausinga resigns from Our Party and DCGA

Tausinga has resigned tonight.
Sponsored AdvertisementSolomon Power

The MP for West New Georgia Vona Vona Constituency, Hon. Silas Vaqara Tausinga, has tendered his resignation from Our Party, effectively leaving the government as of tonight.

Tausinga’s resignation has come at the back of two-days of unrest in Honiara which saw shops looted and burned, a school torched to the ground and two police stations attacked, one was burned.

Sponsored Advertisement
Our Telekom

Speaking exclusively to SBMOnline tonight, Tausinga confirmed that he has resigned from Our Party and the Government under leadership of Prime Minister Manasseh Sogavare..

“Yes that’s true,” he told this magazine.

In his resignation letter to the President of Our Party tonight, which SBMOnline has a copy, Tausinga said: “I hereby tender my resignation from being a member of Our Party.”

He continued: “It has been a valuable experience being a member of your party but for reasons personal to me, I feel I can no longer remain with the party when my allegiance is no longer with your Parliamentary Wing Leader.”

Our Party’s Wing Leader is Prime Minister Sogavare.

Sogavare announced tonight that despite pressure on him to resign, he will not do so.

Earlier today social media claims that the MP for North Malaita and Minister of Agriculture Hon Senley Levi Filualea has assured his people that he will be resigning from the government.


What you think?

Sponsored Advertisement